
Star Trek was a good movie...just not a good Star Trek movie. It had lot's of action and lot's of comedic relief. It had some amazing scenes with the original Spock. The new McCoy is spot on with the original. The elavator scene with Spock and Uhura was touching. However, it fell short of a story that Star Trek is known for.
The biggest issue is that this movie is not a prequel but an alternate universe. I acknowledge that alternate universes are inherently Star Trek but this shamelessly eradicates the known future with Capt. Picard, Sisko, and Janeway. I mean, what about if Star Wars had done this with its prequels? Anakin Skywalker's story would make no sense by the time Luke Skywalker came into the picture. The timeline was ignored and it's all the worse for it.
Another issue is Nero. He was supposed to be the greatest villain in Star Trek since Khan. Not so. He is a mere footnote in the movie. He's thrown back in time and angry at Kirk and Spock for Romulus being destroyed. And that's it. Very little of Nero's actions are explained. He's just an angry guy trying to blow up planets. Nero is one of the weakest villains in Star Trek. Shinzon is better.
It is evident that J.J. Abrams managed to come up with a script that would make Star Trek a cash cow for him by making it suitable only to pop culture. Star Trek is intelligent. It is thought provoking. No thoughts are provoked in this movie especially when it comes to the ill conceived notion of red matter. It seems to me that if Abrams didn't want to make a Star Trek movie then he should have stuck with something else instead.
I give it five question marks! ?????

No comments:
Post a Comment